Nova Scotia Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
Last year on the fly swap someone put in something tied on a Siwash hook. I forget what and who sent it! My memory doesn't keep the details at the top of the pile! So whoever please excuse.
Anyway it got tried in desperate situations which of course doesn't do much for any rig. I thought I'll never see the hook again however yesterday in CTC there they were all line up at the front of the hook display.
Now does anyone use them on a regular basis? Are they for flies, bait or what?
Anyone care to rate them?
Thanks
Paul

·
Registered
173 Posts
Paul I dont know anything about siwash... but if the eye is straight, its a bait hook.
turned up eye is a salmon hook, and turned down reg flies.
thats about all I can help with.LOL

M

·
Banned
767 Posts
FWIW, I've been using Siwash hooks for nearly forty years. First used them in salt water when I lived in B.C. Found that they held jumping fish very well.

After B.C. I used them not just in salt water, for mackeral etc., on Norwegian jigs, but also in fresh. Since they are a heavy wire, chromed, salt-water hook, local stores did not carry the smaller sizes in N.S. I sent away for them in several sizes, and over the years replaced most of my treble hooks with Siwash singles, for the sake of C&R, mostly. A barbless [or even barbed] Siwash will hold a fish, but is much easier to remove.