Nova Scotia Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
749 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, my experience at doing these things is nil, what I currently know is from reading, watching youtube videos, and asking Questions.

I took up Kayaking/Kayak fishing this summer. I have several years of experience with Canoes, but have sat in a Kayak a total of 2 times my entire life before buying my current rig. I decided I wanted something for myself, and didnt want to go high end until i was sure i liked it..so far.. so good.

I purchased a Pelican 100 Angler Kayak from Canadian tire (on sale earlier this summer)

here it is:

I also purchased a basic paddle from Canadian tire, and a pfd, nothing special, or post worthy.
I am shorter, and have a verticle paddling habit, so i have shortend my Paddle considerably. as for the lenght, im not too sure, I cut it enough for it to feel comfortable.

I did some digging (tyvm to all that helped here) for a fish finder, and some other rigging.
my first modification was my Fish finder. here is what i did:

First off, I went to Pricess Auto, as well as Canadian tire, and picked up some goodies:

18 Guage Wireing

Marine Goop (this stuff is awesome)

some butt connectors (dunno if thats how its spelt or not)
Rivet gun (previously didnt have)
electical tape

on a trip to Maine, I picked up my Fish Finder, and some other Accessories
fish finder

Paddle Clips

and some Deck rigging (Bungie cords, hooks, eyelets) which, I didnt take photos of

the first thing i did is glue my Transducer to Hull of my Kayak in the stern

let that dry overnight.
In the stern of this boat there is a covered compartment, however its not 100% waterproof, i am using this for my battery compartment, and drilled a hole for the wireing:
I will be waterproofing this obviously.

I set up where i wanted the wireing to go, before i did anything drastic.

to be continued...

·
Registered
296 Posts