Nova Scotia Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I plan on doing some Shad fishing, probably on the Stewiacke. What should I use? Just a regular shad dart? What color(s) do you have luck with?

What tide should I fish? I was there at low tide a couple weeks ago and I could see a fair amount of fish finning but couldn't get any bites (all i had was a 503 super duper gold and a panther martin)

Does it matter where I fish it?

Thanks a lot, and also include any other tips you think may help!

·
Registered
212 Posts
Great question! Im just brand new to fishing and have been fishing trout and small mouth bass and having alot of fun. I hear alot of people fishing for shad and wants to give it a try sometime. What do ya do just put the shad dart on your line and cast er? I'll just watch this forum and see what tips I can pick up - any info is a great help.

·
Registered
296 Posts
I had luck on white and yellow darts, and bass flukes

·
Registered
106 Posts
I use white,Yellow,orange and even got a few on pink.Cast it out and when bringing it in make a small jigging action.Also make sure you use a line that is not very visible in the water as Shad are Line shy.I heard that you can get Shad on a Panther Martin but haven't tried it myself.If you find yourself using a white and nothing is happening try another color.First thing in the morning seemed to be better,other then that, the Shad seem to go to shader areas.When you hook a Shad they have soft mouths so make sure you don't horse it in or else you won't be bringing him in.

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks a lot guys. I'm going to be up that way today so I might have to try to go for a fish. Will post updates when I'm back tonight!

·
Registered
296 Posts
Good luck...

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·