Nova Scotia Fishing Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive been fishing around the hrm area now for about 3 years and all from shore. I grew up always having a canoe or boat too fish with, so i decided it was time too get myself a rig again and start too enjoy the open waters. Then reality set in, i couldnt afford a boat and i currently own a hatchback for a vehicle. So a boat was out of the question. Ive been looking for a 10-12' ft canoe now for almost a year on and off on kijiji. And never had the luck of finding one in my price range. Then i ran into a guy fishing Oathill lake in early april in a single person packable pontoon boat. I fell in love with the boat at first sight. I came home that day and imidiately looked it up on Crappy Tires web site. 349.99 plus tax , with a shrug and a sigh i knew it was still a bit out of my price range for what i wanted too spend. Then a buddy of mine calls me up this week and says Crappy Tire has that pontoon on sale this week for a 100 bucks off.
Well too shorten the story up
. I went out today and picked up my Pontoon boat from Crappy Tire for 249.99 . The point of this whole post was too ask around if anyone here has ever used one of these Pontoons. Should i avoid windy days ? They feel stable in the water ? Ill get my first shot at trying it on sunday morning before work. Plan on hitting Morris lake around 6 am for a few hours. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Fishing4life

·
Registered
44 Posts
fIshing4life,

Congratulations on your new boat! Please give us all a report on your maiden voyage on Morris Lake (boat performance and fishing).

Best of luck,
J. B.

·
Levity Consultant
1,787 Posts
F4L,

Congratulations. Never tried one, but they look like a winner. If wind becomes an issue, try rigging an anchor. I recall a New Fly Fisher episode where they recomended a dual-anchor system.

Paul

Reactions: pmorris

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·