Nova Scotia Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there all!
I will be staying in the bridgewater area for the long weekend.
I was just wondering if there are any salon or sea trout running up the Lahave and Gold river.
Just wondering if any anglers with experience on these river could give me a little advice.
thanks dave
Are you even allowed to fish for salmon on the lahave any more

·
Registered
423 Posts
No salmon season on either river, but you can still fly fish for other species. As for sea trout there were some running a couple weeks ago and maybe the water we are getting to today will freshen things up again.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thank you very much for the info. I have no experience at all with those rivers!
So if I were to fish the gold river... would it be better to fish down stream from the 103 highway, or up stream??
are there many good pools on this river?

·
Registered
423 Posts
thank you very much for the info. I have no experience at all with those rivers!
So if I were to fish the gold river... would it be better to fish down stream from the 103 highway, or up stream??
are there many good pools on this river?
I have no experience with the Gold at all. But I know there is a nice pool above the 103 bridge but I was told you have to walk to it. As for trout in the LaHave I would suggest the pools on the north branch. There is a good stretch of water below Fiendel's bridge in Union Square with several nice pools during the first kilometer or so. Watch out for a pool with a large ledge running along the edge of it (It is called the slippery ledges for a reason) as a fisherman drowned there several years back.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Both rivers are CLOSED to salmon fishing. Please read the reg's.

·
Registered
423 Posts
Both rivers are CLOSED to salmon fishing. Please read the reg's.