Nova Scotia Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering how they work and if anyone makes their own they seem more affordable than knotless tapered leaders which after sitting all winter are better used as a slinkey any input is appreciated

thanks mat

·
Registered
57 Posts
I have never used them before either.I am going to give them a try this year coming up.Here is a link to no how to build one with out a jig

·
Registered
20 Posts
I was wondering how they work and if anyone makes their own they seem more affordable than knotless tapered leaders which after sitting all winter are better used as a slinkey any input is appreciated

thanks mat
I use them for most of my fishing. I got interested when I read about them here: http://globalflyfisher.com/fishbetter/henk/index.html
Then recently someone showed me another link, here: http://www.hatchesmagazine.com/page/may2006/185
They are quite cheap to make. They straighten very nicely when you cast them. You can make them as strong or as light as you wish.
If you use fly tying thread, Uni, they will start to sink after a while which is not so bad if you're using streamers or wet flies.
You can also make them out of nylon, just buy a 300 yrd spool from Canadian Tire, for instance Stren.
I think they are very versatile.
Tom.

·
Registered
523 Posts
Hi there,
Interesting links you gave us there. You know, in over 50 years of fly fishing, I have used all kinds of manufactured tapered leaders, and I regularly make my own leaders, by using a tying formula. (you can see one here)
The furled bit seems interesting, but when tying your own from mono pieces is so simple, I don't know that it would be worth the fuss ?
Maybe this is one of those "old habits die hard" deals, and it could have something to do with the fact I've got a bunch of tapered dealies to use up, but I think I'll stick with building my own tapered, knotted leaders, me thinks.