Nova Scotia Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a beginner, interested in lake shore fishing. All I have at the moment are sneakers, so I am interested in purchasing the appropriate footwear. I'm trying to decide between a good ole pair of rubber boots or some chest waders. Are chest waders overkill? Thanks.

Matt

·
Registered
47 Posts
Since I bought a pair two years ago there is rarely a time I don't use mine. There's comfort in knowing you won't have to worry about stepping out a few extra feet to get a cast out further or get to some of the harder to access areas where others may not fish heavily (in theory fished less?). Right now there is a pair on sale at Canadian tire $100 off that someone mentioned on another thread (Perry maybe?) for $99 and they are breathable (key). Good luck, the only issue i have with mine is drying them which seems to take forever! (neoprene)

Cheers

·
Registered
397 Posts
I have both, and I do a lot of river and lake fishing and I get a lot more use out of my chest waders. You can access more areas and don't have to worry about getting water in your boots. Ct had a pair of breathable chest waders on sale for $100, don't know if they are still on sale.

·
Registered
397 Posts
Ah looks like blandingo got it in before I did.

·
Registered
197 Posts
i wouldn't be without waders but don't do like i did my first pair were 3 mil neoprene and they were great in the spring in cold water but hot in the summer weeks since ive bought breathable waders much better in july

·
Registered
879 Posts
Although I'm fortunate to have a boat, there are waters I fish from shore, and to be able to wade out and cast parallel to the shoreline really increases success, I've been using hip waders, and this weekend picked up a pair of the chest waders mentioned above, can't wait to get them wet

·
Levity Consultant
1,787 Posts