Nova Scotia Fishing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a newbie to fishing...haven't gone since my grandfather brought be as a young child. My 3 year old daughter has started mentioning to me that she wants to go fishing, so I'm going to get a licence so we can go together.

Now onto the questions...
Other than a licence, what kind of gear would I need? Would a kid's rod (ie: https://www.thefishinhole.com/index.cfm?imageSku=3865705&enlargeSkuz=25821) be worth getting? Where's a good place to go fishing that wouldn't require a boat (I live in Dartmouth but don't mind travelling a bit)? Have you ever tried a u-fish? Is there a particular one that you'd recommend? Do you have to bring your own gear or licence to a u-fish? When (month, season and/or time of day) is ideal to go fishing? Can freshwater fishing be done anytime the water's free of ice?

Thanks for all of your help!

·
Registered
296 Posts
Not sure what to tell you on the gear thing other than get somthing that's usable now and she can grow with,like a closed face real with a push button is pretty simple to operate.I myself am no pro by no means I just know the basics and what I like.Now you live in "The City of Lakes"so there is no real reason to travel too far,Start at Albro lake it has bass and stock trout in it and is easily accessable as are many other lakes in Dartmouth.I have been to one U-fish and this one has gear on site,I think personally if you were to go this route first to see how she likes it othere than wasting money to find out she doesnt.Another suggestion I will make is go to Fishing Fever in halifax and the owner and staff there are ultimate pro's and they will help you out immensely with gear and liscences.Hope that helped a bit,its too early so I'm just likely rambling

Fundy Shore &
Annapolis Valley
Gary and Shelley Kelly
Lockhartville, Kings County
Telephone: 902-684-9306
Rainbow and speckled trout
Michael Cameron U-Fish

Truro