59 replies to this topic

#1 Bass_Slayer

Bass_Slayer

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 09:07 AM

So i've been fishing for 25 years, and finally decided to get myself a salmon licence and tags. I know the spots in the rivers so why not take advantage right? After tens of miles hiked and only a few hook up I decided to do a little research. Do any of you realize Atlantic Salmon are being considered for the Aquatic Species at Risk act, That our gouvernment keeps postponing hearings.That Atlantic salmon in North America account for roughly only 8 % of all brude stocks, and yet our gouvernment still allows us to fish them for recreation...I mean would'nt the salmon association know this,and stop promoting angling for one of our greatest fish species. Just thought you might want something to think about next year when your helping finish the salmon off. Fish Farms do have a place and so do salmon fisherman, its together. Leave the last couple wild salmon we have out of it. Even fighting one on a Fly for a few minutes makes you as bad as the gouvernment which allows it. I have a greater respect for Salmon now that I am more educated, If your a salmon Angler, just edcated yourself. I don't expect anyone to listen, and im probably going to get a lot of deffensive feedback. just be carful with the last few salmon. I just watched cbc last night where a story from china showed people going to the extent of dressing as pandas in order to preserve the last few wild pandas. You all laugh but will see how funny it is when your dumb arses are layin in the bottom of the river in a fake salmon costume just trying to get a simple picture of the last salmon. That is all.

#2 Bass_Slayer

Bass_Slayer

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 09:19 AM

http://icesjms.oxfor...t/60/2/343.full

Here is a link from one of the worlds best universities to get you started

#3 csft

csft

Advanced Member