8 replies to this topic

#1 SerroulJM

SerroulJM

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationHRM

Posted 26 May 2011 - 05:51 PM

I drive past the Nine Mile River on my way to work. I'm new to fishing the area. I don't expect specifics, of course, but is it worth fishing? If I started, say near the 102, and worked from there, will I be wasting an evening?

#2 BrownTrout Stalker

BrownTrout Stalker

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 622 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 06:11 PM

Fishing is never a waste of time..even if u dont hook up...theres small brook trout there,,n shad..not sure if the shad r still hitten as well as few weeks back tho..

#3 SerroulJM

SerroulJM

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationHRM

Posted 26 May 2011 - 06:19 PM

Trout is my target, and size don't matter :) fishing isn't a waste, but it's nice to know there's at least an outside shot at getting something. If nothing else, it'll be an open spot of moving water to practice fly casting!
Thanks, Tony.

#4 lbbow

lbbow

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:47 AM

If you prefer not to park on the highway. You can take the elmsdale exit, go right at the stop heading past The Superstore, look for Garden Rd. on the right (couple Km's at most from the ramp). Nice strech of water.

#5 Fishin fool

Fishin fool

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Locationin hot water (N.S.)

Posted 27 May 2011 - 11:23 AM

I fish Garden Rd. ever chance I get. Nice strech of river and usually I'm the only one there.
David M
Dartmouth, N.S.

#6 marquisfly

marquisfly

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 202 posts

Posted 27 May 2011 - 11:25 AM

Nice river for brookies,great hatches of caddis and mayfly.I have caught some good sized brookies up to 16" and find very little fishing pressure in the areas obove the 102 highway.

#7 WollyBugger

WollyBugger

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 May 2011 - 11:47 AM

Do you need waders for this spot??