"safe" Fishing Spots In Halifax And Spryfield Area? - General Fishing Questions - Nova Scotia Fishing

Photo

"safe" Fishing Spots In Halifax And Spryfield Area?

halifax spryfield safe to eat

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 gbalkam

gbalkam

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationSpryfield, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Posted 04 May 2017 - 09:47 PM

Hi peoples.  I'm fairly new to the Halifax area.  I worry about pollution, so I don't really trust any of the local waterways to be "safe" to eat the fish from.  I'm from Amherst, and pretty much any hole you can drown a worm in is safe to eat the fish from. lol. 

The other thing is, I am a bit restricted as to where I can get to.  No more hiking 10 miles up a creek like I did when I was a kid.  I have to use a cane for most of my walking, but I can get along without for short distances. 

Since I don't have a car, I am hoping for something really local (as in I can con my brother into going too) or near a bus route where the water is in short walking distance (about a half mile or so).

I mostly fish fresh water trout, but also tidal water from the shore is great too. (smelts are fun with rod and reel *sometimes a bass gets lost in there too*)

I am hoping to find something close enough that I can go fishing often, and get my fat butt off the computer chair for some exercise.

I'm old school.. if you don't come out wet, dirty and covered in bug bites.. you weren't fishing. LOL.

#2 NS_Sens

NS_Sens

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 397 posts

Posted 07 May 2017 - 08:19 AM