4 replies to this topic

#1 Krista

Krista

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationCape Breton

Posted 12 April 2011 - 07:47 PM

I have been fishing Brown, Rainbow and Speckled trout for about 5 years and I am looking to try something different.

I have become quite interested in Bass fishing and noticed that you can catch some decent sized Stripers in the Stewiacke River. Has anyone ever fished this? Can you catch them from the shore? What did you use as a lure? Any info would be appreciated!

-K

#2 Terran

Terran

To do nothing is unacceptable.

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2726 posts
  • LocationHRM

Posted 12 April 2011 - 08:01 PM

I have been fishing Brown, Rainbow and Speckled trout for about 5 years and I am looking to try something different.

I have become quite interested in Bass fishing and noticed that you can catch some decent sized Stripers in the Stewiacke River. Has anyone ever fished this? Can you catch them from the shore? What did you use as a lure? Any info would be appreciated!

-K

Hi Krista,

There are some decent Stripers in the Stewiacke River. However, there are pretty tight regulations regarding what you can use (Check Handbook pg. 45). The "Stewie's" a Special Trout Management Area.

You might want to try the Shubie or even Grand Lake. Again, the Striped Bass is one of the more heavily regulated fish species. Make sure you check the Handbook thoroughly before heading out. That being said - they are great fun. I fly fish them most times, but try a jig with a twister tail.

Good Luck,

Terran

"In these sad and ominous days of mad fortune chasing, every patriotic, thoughtful citizen, whether he fishes or not, should lament that we have not among our countrymen more fishermen."  Grover Cleveland

#3 Terran

Terran

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2726 posts
  • LocationHRM

Posted 12 April 2011 - 09:01 PM

Krista,

Forgot to mention - check out the Forum on Striped Bass Fishing. Great place to find a lot of good info on the topic.

Terran