• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Cormier13

Cormier13

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 03:59 PM

Hello, this will be my first post to this website, I am also fairly new to fishing with little knowledge, I am a big hunter who's only fishing experience has been going out a few times a year with a basic bait-caster rod and worm and hoping for the best, I do not know many tricks nor much about fish populations. I am from Pictou County area and do some fishing on middle river, and lakes by my house, but my main concern is about a pond in my woods that is about 400-500 feet long, 80-100 feet wide, and fairly shallow, with lots of trees and branches to get hooked up on. I am likely not the only one fishing it as it is along a four wheeler trail but I am sure it is not used by many as my road is not very populated and I have never run into another person while there. So finally on to my question. Since I was about 10 (I am now 20) I have kept about 2-5 brook trout each summer. The fish are about 8-14 inches. I don't get a lot of bites but that might just be because of my low experience level. I am worried about if I take more trout than that through the summer I could risk killing off the population. I am curious of how many trout would likely actually be there and how many I could keep without causing damage. I am not interested in keeping a lot of fish as I have many spots to fish and I prefer to keep a trout or two instead of the bag limit so that they are fresh when eaten anyway, I would however like to know if I should worry about the populations with the numbers I take or not. Thank you , I look forward to continue using this great website.

#2 Bass_Slayer

Bass_Slayer

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 05:06 PM

Ever try running a good fish finder through it?

#3 Cormier13

Cormier13

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 06:02 PM